Digital Principal of the Year

The Digital Principals of the Year program honors principals who exhibit bold, creative leadership in their drive to harness the potential of new technologies to further learning goals.

Congratulations to the 2019 Digital Principals of the Year!

The 2019 Digital Principals are Beth Houf, principal of Fulton Middle School in Fulton, MO; Chris Lehmann, principal of Science Leadership Academy in Philadelphia, PA; Allison Persad, principal of The Young Women’s Leadership School of Astoria in Astoria, NY.

Selection Process

NASSP honors three NASSP-member principals in schools that cover any subset of grades 6—12. Criteria for the award are based on the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Standards for Administrators and the applications of those skills to further the Building Ranks™ framework for school improvement.


Winners receive an expenses-paid (airfare, lodging, and registration) trip to the annual national conference. In addition, winners will have an opportunity to speak at the National Principals Conference. Winners will also be featured on the cover of Principal Leadership magazine.